Introducing our 2021 Tanner Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to Angie Laureano!

Every day, our teachers work tirelessly to provide children with the highest-quality care and learning. They don’t seek acknowledgment for their efforts, which makes it all the more special when their hard work and dedication is recognized. It is a pleasure to announce our 2021 Tanner Teacher of the Year, Angie Laureano, a pre-K teacher at Day Early Learning at Fort Harrison.

The Tanner Teacher of the Year is our annual teacher of the year award in recognition of an outstanding Day Early Learning classroom teacher. It is named after Gene and Rosemary Tanner, long-standing supporters of Early Learning Indiana, in honor of the endowment they started in 2019 to support teacher training and professional development.

We celebrated this award with a ceremony at Day Early Learning at Fort Harrison, Angie’s co-workers, families and children joined us as we surprised her with a plaque and $1,000 cash prize.

Throughout the last year especially, Angie has served as a consistent presence for the center and students, stepping in to provide children with extra support as they needed it. When you go in her room, there are always educationally purposeful things happening. She is very intentional about learning. Angie has been with Day Early Learning since 2013, and we are thrilled to recognize her commitment to children and Day Early Learning at Fort Harrison.

Please join us in congratulating Angie!

10waystoprepareforkindergarten copy

10+ Ways To Ensure Your Child is Prepared for Kindergarten


Splish, Splash! Learning Through Water Play

Plasticine modeling clay in children class. Teacher teaches in school.

Kindergarten Preparedness: Over 10 Strategies to Ready Your Child


10 Brain-Boosting Activities for 4- and 5-Year-Olds


Why Routines are Important for Children

Eryca Atkins Teacher Spotlight

Teacher Spotlight: Eryca Atkins